"Mother of Presidents"

"Mother of Presidents" is sometimes used to refer to Ohio. Seven United States Presidents were born in Ohio. They are Ulysses S. Grant (Point Pleasant), Rutherford Bichard Hayes (Delaware), James Abram Garfield (near Orange), Benjamin Harrison (North Bend), William McKinley (Niles), William Howard Taft (Cincinnati), and Warren Gamaliel Harding (Corsica, now Blooming Grove). William Henry Harrison, born in Virginia but settled in Ohio, is also claimed as an Ohio president.

The Ohio Statehouse has named four House and four Senate hearing rooms in honor of Ohio's eight presidents. View the presidential hearing rooms by clicking on each of the president's names.