Ohio Statehouse unveils seven speakers' portraits
May 23, 2017

The Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board (CSRAB) and the Capitol Square Foundation (CSF) unveiled the portraits of seven former speakers of the Ohio House of Representatives this morning in a ceremony held in the Rotunda of the Ohio Statehouse.

The event brought 50 years of legislative leadership together on Capitol Square and was standing room only. The program culminated with the unveiling of all seven portraits simultaneously. “The seven portraits broaden the scope and artistic diversity of the Ohio Statehouse’s art collection instantly. These works of art will inspire and educate future leaders of Ohio for generations to come,” said CSRAB Executive Director, Laura Battocletti. The portraits unveiled are as follows:

Charles F. Kurfess (R) 1967 - 1972 by Ned Bittinger
A.G. Lancione (D) 1973-1975 by Ned Bittinger
Vernal G. Riffe Jr. (D) 1975 - 1995 by Daniel E. Greene
Larry Householder (R) 2001 - 2005 by Daniel E. Greene
Jon A. Husted (R) 2005 - 2009 by Ned Bittinger
Armond Budish (D) 2009 - 2011 by Daniel E. Greene
William G. Batchelder (R) 2011 - 2015 by Leslie Adams