The Portage County Flag featuring a patriotic red, white, and blue theme pays tribute to the United States of America and to the great State of Ohio. The middle section of the flag is dominated by an emblem with the shape of Ohio, in gold, with the location of Portage County super-imposed in red. The seventeen blue stars surrounding the emblem represent of Ohio joining the Union as the nation's seventeenth state. The county's establishment date, 1808, is written across the emblem. On each side of the emblem, alternating red and white stripes, twenty in total, represent the original townships that made up Portage County. Today, the County is comprised of 18 townships, 5 cities, and 7 villages. The county's name recalls a historic portage path used by the Native Americans in the area.